Mumbai


In God’s art studio, if the indian cities are some of the most breathtaking post-impressionist atworks from the mid- 19th century then, without a doubt, Mumbai is ‘The Starry Night’.

Mumbai is not a city, it is an emotion.

Took a break from studies, quenched my thirst to travel, I set off for the city of dreams on a short 2 days trip with a bunch of friends.

If you haven’t been on the train from Pune to Mumbai, you are missing out on one extremely beautiful experience. 

The lush green mountains, valleys, waterfalls on the outside and delicious local snacks with good people on the inside, the train ride was nothing but brilliant.

Mumbai had the most welcoming vibe ever and as we got closer to the distant mumbai skyline it gave me chills as I was returning to my birthplace after sixteen long years.

Waves of serenity and peace freshen you up while you enjoy the sun set into the Arabian Sea and you wonder how you sat there for hours without even realising.

A concise city tour was what followed; Gateway Of India, Taj, Wada Pav, Frankies, Pav Bhaji at Chaupati, CST, Nariman Point. All done in 5 hours. 2:00am, back to Marine drive. Peace!

Not even one full day had passed and I was already in love with the place. We drove back to Pune, and I was at loss for words for the overwhelming sight, the scenic beauty I had laid my eyes on, it reminded me of one thing  ‘some moments aren’t for the camera, they are for you’

Mumbai is not a city, it is an emotion, indeed.

On the night that followed, I asked myself ‘What if I had never shifted from this place? Wouldn’t it have been great to watch Bombay grow, as I grew?’ 

YouTube video I made on the trip- https://youtu.be/gGyAXtI01i4
Cheers!

27 thoughts on “Mumbai

  1. A lovely BW shot of your home city Mumbai, Nim. Very well composed, and very emotional text too. “serenity and peace freshen you up” – it sounds like you woke up and felt alive all over again on this two day trip. Two days is short but so many places you managed to covered. Doesn’t sound like you were tired one bit πŸ™‚

    Mumbai as an emotion for you – it sounds very much special to you πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I’d absolutely love to take that train ride from Pune to Mumbai. The scenery en route sounds gorgeous and Mumbai is a city I’ve long wanted to explore. The city tour sounds excellent for that. Great black and white photo of a very wet day and an intriguing building. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  3. β€˜What if I had never shifted from this place? Wouldn’t it have been great to watch Bombay grow, as I grew?’
    This is an interesting question. Even though I have grown up in Bombay (Mumbai as it is known now) and wondered about everything imaginable under the sun while sitting up nights when I should have been sleeping, this particular question never popped up in my mind. Now that it has and I am in the unique position to answer it, I ‘ll sure try to pen it down. Maybe even write a blog post on it! πŸ™‚
    I had read somewhere that the purpose of writing is to make the readers think. and wonder. Your post did that for me today. Happy Blogging! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’d say Bombay is an emotion. Mumbai is a city. And that’s a helluva fast trip of 5 hours. But at the end of the day. Watching the silvery waters at marine drive, and being with the breeze there late into the night is something. .. There are cute dogs too have you noticed. Huggable ones.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

